NaNoWriMo

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1_pngAhh, the end of October.  I hear pencils sharpening and paper fluttering.  Batteries in laptops are charging.  The survival kits are being filled with chocolate and skittles.  Junk food is being hoarded. Can you stock up on sleep? Probably not. 

Just two weeks to go and the great, word count, word count experiment of the ages begins again. National Novel Writing Month. I am new to NaNoWriMo.  This will be my third.  So far I haven’t won.  Came really close last year.  My unfinished novel idea from last year made a great screenplay during Script Frenzy.  Well, maybe not great, but I finished and it made sense in the end.

This year I am going to try hard to win, but even if I don’t I will have a blast.  I love the freedom that writing fast and loose gives you. And the forums are a really fun place to waste time in. Though I now have Facebook and Twitter, so I don’t need any other reasons to waste time.

I am looking forward to competing against my 26-year-old son, who also loves to write.  That should really be fun.  If you haven’t signed up for 2009, hurry up, the clock is counting down.

Leave a Reply

